back to top ^

2015 SMWC Writing Contest Winners

We’re excited to announce this year’s San Miguel Writers’ Conference “Writing Contest” Winners.  This year the quality of submissions was amazing and it wasn’t easy for our judges to pick winners.  However after much discussion they narrowed their list to the writers below.  Over the next few weeks we plan on publish each of the winning selections on our website, so that everyone can see the time and effort these writers have put into crafting such wonderful pieces.   Some of our winners will also be performing during an “Evening of Storytelling” on February 12th, 2015.


Norma Liliana Valdez for her poems P’al Norte and Unaccompanied .

Poetry Honorable Mentions

Jamaica Baldwin for her poem, Cell Revolt.

Kimberly Reyes for her poems in The Dance.


Creative Nonfiction

Diana Spechler for her creative nonfiction piece, The Son of The Celebrity.

Creative Nonfiction Honorable Mentions

Jessica Smith for her creative nonfiction piece, We Try to Choose Our Life.

Deborah Bickel for her her creative nonfiction piece, Antonio’s Leg.



Iraj Isaac Rahmim for his novel excerpt, The Nighab.

Fiction  Honorable Mentions

Lisa Sharon for her short story, Air Force Ones.

Sarah Gerard for her short story, Side Show.


San Miguel de Allende

San Miguel de Allende

Each of the winners will be attending the writers’ conference in San Miguel de Allende free of charge and have their lodging provided for them. It is our hope that attending the conference will allow them to network, learn more about the craft of writing, and share some writing advice with their peers.

This year is the 10th anniversary of the San Miguel Writers’ Conference.  Our acclaimed keynote speakers will include Gloria Steinem, Alice Walker (The Color Purple), Scott Turow (Presumed Innocent), Ángeles Mastretta (Arráncame la vida,; Mujeres de ojos grandes), Tracy Chevalier (Girl with a Pearl Earring), Richard Blanco (fifth inaugural poet of the United States), and Jane Urquhart (Away; The Underpainter).